City Council & Election Information

A group photo of the Owatonna City Council

City Council, Mayor, and City Administrator - March 2017

Back row (left to right): Council Members Nate Dotson, Greg Schultz, Dave Burbank, Kevin P. Raney, and Brent Svenby.

Front row (left to right): Council Member Jeff Okerberg, Mayor Tom Kuntz, City Administrator Kris Busse, and Council Member Doug Voss.

April 7, 2020 City Council Meeting: Pursuant to MINN. STAT. § 13D.021, this meeting will be conducted by telephonic or other electronic means as instructed.  Members of the Council will attend by telephone or other electronic means.  This will be a Microsoft Teams Meeting which can be accessed by calling:

 507-242-3225 and entering the Conference ID: 855 707 584#.

       There will be a public hearing during this meeting for the modification of Development District 3 and establishment of TIF District 3-14 for the Bosch Warehouse Project. Members of the public are encouraged to participate by submitting written questions or comments by email prior to the meeting to:

   If there are any questions about this notice or participation in the meeting, please contact the City Administrator’s Office at 507-774-7341.

3-year Strategic Plan - 2020-2022

Regular Meetings

  • 7:00 p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month
  • Council Chambers
    Owatonna Administartion Building
    540 West Hills Circle
    Owatonna, MN 55060

Meeting Determination  March 20, 2020 - Determination that In-Person Meetings are not practical, prudent, or feasible because of a Health Pandemic or Emergency.  


The Mayor and City Council members are the elected leaders of the City Government. They are elected to 4-year terms; the next city election will be the 2020 General Election on November 3, 2020 with election of three council members and Mayor.  

  • Council Member-at-Large 
  • Second Ward Council Member 
  • Fourth Ward Council Member 
  • Mayor


The City Council makes all policy decisions in matters such as:

  • Budgets
  • Improvement projects
  • Legislation
  • Zoning

The Council hires the City Attorney and City Administrator, and confirms appointments to the City’s Boards, Commissions, and Department Head positions.

Council Meetings Playback

Council Meetings may be viewed on our website.

The most recent meeting will also play on these public access channels:  Charter Cable Channel 181 & Jaquar Cable Channel 900 

The meetings will air at the following times:

  • Wednesdays at 12:30 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.
  • Thursdays at 11 a.m. and 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturdays at 4 p.m.
  • Sundays at 4 p.m. and 10:30 p.m.

Prior meeting information is available. Contact the City Administrator’s Office at 507-774-7341.If you wish to submit a video to play, please contact Mark Blando, Library Director, at 507-774-7002.